The Welsh Sinfonia Wind Quintet

Saturday 6th May 2017

Time 7.30pm

The Welsh Sinfonia chamber orchestra has twice performed at the Wiltshire Music Centre. If you have been lucky enough to have been at their concerts you will already be familiar with the superb quality of their woodwind and brass.  The five principals of the horn, bassoon, oboe, flute and clarinet sections have formed a wind quintet to play music written for this more unusual combination of instruments.

Quintets, quartets, trios, solos – composers from Haydn to Ibert and Britten via Arnold and Rossini and two wonderful composers from Eastern Europe, the Hungarian Farkas Ferenc and the Czech Anton Reicha. (If you’ve never heard their music before, you have a treat in store.) It’s a sparkling programme which they will play with gusto.

The sound is both complex and subtle, accessible and exciting, and they play the music superbly. The wonderful acoustic in the Priory Church will suit the music well. Tickets are on sale now!

Front Nave £20, Rear Nave £15, sides £10; Edington Angels 10% discount, 18 and under FREE. Please add £2 per ticket if you pay on the door.

Book your tickets


Catherine Handley


Gillian Taylor


Darius Gray


Fiona Bassett

French Horn

Robert Codd


The programme

Josef Haydn

Divertimento in B Flat for Wind Quintet

Malcolm Arnold

Movements from Divertimento for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet
Three Shanties

Ferenc Farcas

Three Early Hungarian Dances: Intrada, Shoulder-blade Dance, Saltarello

Anton Reicha

Quintet in E Flat

Jacques Ibert

Trois Pieces Breves

Benjamin Britten

Two Metamorphoses after Ovid (solo oboe)


Quartet No 1 in F Major for Flute, Clarinet, Horn and Bassoon